Body & Seoul United

So…. for my first post on this awesome blog, Sarah and I wanted to tell the world that we’re officially in Seoul, Korea! Woohoo.

Funny story, when Sarah and I were trying to look for dorm rooms, our rooms looked quite big.  When we walked in, we were in for a surprise.  Korea dorm rooms are about 2/3 the size of OSU dorms.  Learning how to save space, and making use of every single crevice is crucial!

For the first night that we went out together, we met up with my friends: Tai and Paul.  When we arrived at Myeong- Dong, it felt as if we were in a different universe.  America, you need to step up your game.  Korea is so much more technologically advanced (I’ll tell you guys more about how high-tech Korea is in the next couple posts).  We were there for about half-an-hour, then it started to rain cats and dogs.  I laughed so hard, because I was the only one out of the three of us who decided to buy a poncho.  Oregon isn’t much into ponchos, but dammit, I wanted one, so I was running around in a pink polka-dotted poncho.  I’ll try to take it back to Corvallis, so if you see someone running around and laughing like a maniac in the rain, please do not hesitate to say ‘HI KATHY!’

I loved the experience of running around in the rain wearing a poncho.  Except for the fact that my flats were SOAKING.  That was uncool.

Instead of eating at a fancy restaurant, we all ate at the subway station, eating the typical Korean street food: ddeokbokki/teokbokki.

teokbokki (also known as topokki)[1] is a popular Korean snack food made from soft rice cake, fish cake and sweet red chili sauce.[2] It is commonly purchased from street vendors or pojangmacha. Originally it was called tteok jjim (떡찜) and was a savory braised dish of sliced rice cake, meat, eggs, and seasoning” (Wikipedia).

It was an awesome night.

For the past two days, we’ve been trying to adapt to the culture, stocking up our room and preparing for school (unfortunately, we start three weeks earlier than at OSU).

I’m hungry.  So hopefully we go eat soon! 😀 I promise to add pictures to this post later on!

 

XOXO

-K.Le

 

Fun Fact: One of the most popular songs in Korea is called, ‘Some’ by Junggigo & Soyou Featuring Lil Boi of Geeks

Leave a Reply

